Solved issue -Directory index forbidden by Options directive:


I taken solution from following URL:

http://wpapi.com/solved-issue-directory-index-forbidden-by-options-directive/

This entry was posted in apache, Linux Fedora8, Open source and tagged , , , by Purab Kharat. Bookmark the permalink.

About Purab Kharat

I am WordPress and Drupal Architect. I worked on many technologies like Ruby on Rails, Flex, PHP etc... I am Purab Kharat from India, Pune. I love to play chess and listen music and read books. I work in SY Smartsourcing Global Pvt Ltd in Princeton, NJ, USA. Now I am living at Plainsboro, 164 Hampshire Drive, Princeton Meadows, NJ. I have more then Ten years experience in Web Application Development (Specially in Php 5.0, Ruby on Rails, Mysql 5.0, RIA, Wordpress, Drupal, Joomla, Ecommerce)

10 thoughts on “Solved issue -Directory index forbidden by Options directive:

  1. i get this here all the time:

    [Mon Jul 26 12:04:58 2010] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] Directory index forbidden by Options directive: /var/www/xxx.xx/web/wp-content/themes/theme1030/images/, referer: http://xxx.xx/wp-content/themes/theme1030/style.css

    the css file is w3c validated
    i sincerely don’t know what to do or where to look

  2. We are getting this error on CentOS with Ruby 1.8.7 Rails 3.0.3 Gems 1.4.2 MongoDB 1.6.5

    We can’t track it down to save our lives, and as a result we’re not able to run an app package.

    Any ideas?

  3. I need help in this… I disable the welcome website to put my own… I got it to work and was able to disable Indexing…. however when I updated my page (copy a new Index.html file), the page went back to be Indexed… I have no idea why… I tried changing back and ford the Options and guess what… “Forbidden Page 403”
    So I disabled Selinux and rebooted my server… went back to start the httpd and guess what??? Forbidden Page again… honestly I’m getting tired of this.. I want the page to be displayed immediately and no need to go through indexes… I do have a Flash website, I don’t think that has nothing to do… since still I have the Index.html file in place… so anyways this is my configuration for the directory options

    Options -Indexes
    AllowOverride none

    I am planing in virtual hosting but not yet… I would like to firs get the solution of this issue… but I’ve been like crazy looking and looking and it seems that I can’t just find it… any idea???

  4. I’m no expert when it comes to selinux, but recommended it is just turned off, and then giving the entire world read/write and execute rights on a folder is simply madness. NEVER ever give full rights on a webfolder to the entire world if you care about safety. Turning off selinux is a backward way of fixing things….it is better to alter the configuration of selinux.

  5. Hi there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this article
    to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thank you for sharing!

  6. please i really need someone’s help here i just uploaded a wordpress site which was working well on localhost but as soon as its uploaded on remote server i have been getting 500 internal error now am just getting a blank page i checked the error log this is

    [Sat Sep 28 17:29:09 2013] [error] [client 197.220.169.12] File does not exist: /home/xxxx/public_html/home, referer: http://xxxx.com/
    [Sat Sep 28 17:28:38 2013] [error] [client 192.138.17.224] File does not exist: /home/xxxx/public_html/404.shtml
    [Sat Sep 28 17:28:38 2013] [error] [client 192.138.17.224] File does not exist: /home/xxxx/public_html/wp-cron.php

    please note am just a beginner and i have no idea of what to do ill be willing to give anyone access to the backend to check it out too. Thanks

Leave a Reply

