How to Use chkconfig command on fedora


chkconfig command is default command for linux versions.
chkconfig command is basically used for what is status when machine is rebooting. Startup of machine which services get started automatically.

For listing for services:
#su
#ROOT-PASSWORD
#chkconfig –list

If you want to add any service at startup:
# chkconfig –add nginx

If you want to turn on any service at startup:
#chkconfig nginx on

Stopping service
#chkconfig mysql off

This entry was posted in PHP and tagged , , , , by Purab Kharat. Bookmark the permalink.

About Purab Kharat

I am WordPress and Drupal Architect. I worked on many technologies like Ruby on Rails, Flex, PHP etc... I am Purab Kharat from India, Pune. I love to play chess and listen music and read books. I work in SY Smartsourcing Global Pvt Ltd in Princeton, NJ, USA. Now I am living at Plainsboro, 164 Hampshire Drive, Princeton Meadows, NJ. I have more then Ten years experience in Web Application Development (Specially in Php 5.0, Ruby on Rails, Mysql 5.0, RIA, Wordpress, Drupal, Joomla, Ecommerce)

5 thoughts on “How to Use chkconfig command on fedora

  1. What about aiccu ? I have it on every init on, but it doesn’t start on bootup I have to login open a terminal window and type init 5 for example to start it what could be the problem ?

Leave a Reply

